first_imgPrime Minister Narendra Modi mingled freely mingled with the leaders of various opposition parties as he attended the Rajya Sabha proceedings today to witness the oath-taking ceremony by the newly nominated MPs.Modi arrived a few minutes before the Upper House proceedings began and went around greeting the opposition leaders seated in the front rows. He greeted Congress leaders AK Antony, Anand Sharma and Pramod Tiwari, as well as BSP’s Mayawati and Satish Mishra. Modi also shook hands with Dilip Kumar Tikey of the BJD and greeted Sukhendu Sekhar Roy of the TMC.The Prime Minister then moved into the aisle where Left leaders Sitaram Yechury and TK Rangarajan were seated. Modi had a brief but animated chat with Yechury during which he also placed his arm on his shoulder as well as that of Ramaswamy.As the House proceedings began, Modi sat at his designated seat next to the Leader of the House and Finance Minister Arun Jaitley. He was in the House when five new members including Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa, Swapan Dasgupta and Subramanian Swamy took the oath of allegiance to the Constitution.The newly-nominated members, after taking their oath, greeted Modi with folded hands and the PM acknowledged their greetings. Modi left the House immediately after the oath ceremony ended.While Dhindsa took oath in Punjabi, Dasgupta used his mother tongue Bengali to take the oath. Swamy chose English for the purpose. Olympic medalist boxer MC Mary Kom and Narendra Jadhav, member of the erstwhile National Advisory Council headed by Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, also took their oaths.advertisementThe government had last week nominated Swamy, Jadhav, Dasgupta and Kom to the Upper House. Malayalam actor Suresh Gopi and cricketer-turned-politican Navjot Singh Sidhu, who were also nominated, are yet to take their oaths.Also Read:After 6 Rajya Sabha nominations, Salim Khan, Rajat Sharma or Anupam Kher to make the cut Slogans against Modi in Rajya Sabha after Uttarakhand debate not allowedlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *