Former champs top Dakota Tour openers

first_imgFeature Results And Elijah Zevenbergen began adding to the IMCA Sunoco Stock Car Tour legacy of his own as the five-time tour champion started from the pole and took that $1,000 win ahead of Eric Mahlik.  Modifieds – 1. Ricky Thornton Jr.; 2. Tyler Hall; 3. Austin Arneson; 4. Alex Stanford; 5. Jake O’Neil; 6. Tripp Gaylord; 7. Grey Ferrando; 8. Casey Arneson; 9. Justin O’Brien; 10. Billy Kendall III; 11. Jason Wolla; 12. Brad Hartigan; 13. Tanner Black; 14. Allen Kent; 15. Dylan Goplen; 16. John Nord; 17. Cody Laney; 18. John Hansen; 19. Jesse Skalicky; 20. Eddie Belec; 21. Dave Shipley; 22. Jarrett Carter; 23. Travis Hagen; 24. Jeff Taylor; 25. Michael Johnson; 26. Matt Auk­land; 27. Collen Winebarger; 28. Travis Olheiser; 29. Robert Hellebust  Rob VanMil, Joe Flory and Travis Ulmer were next across the stripe. Already on the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, Thornton led Tyler Hall, Austin Arneson, Alex Stanford and Jake O’Neil to the finish. center_img Ricky Thornton Jr., the 2015 Modified and defending Stock Car king, started ninth and motored to the $2,400 IMCA Modified checkers.  Stock Cars – 1. Elijah Zevenbergen; 2. Eric Mahlik; 3. Rob VanMil; 4. Joe Flory; 5. Travis Ulmer; 6. Rick Schulz; 7. Matt Speckman; 8. Todd Heinrich; 9. Keith Mattox; 10. Brennan Borg; 11. Keaten Froemke; 12. Dalton Flory; 13. Andrew Jochim; 14. John Sandvig; 15. Adam Goff; 16. Jace Iverson; 17. Austin Daae; 18. Tyler McDougall; 19. Chanse Hollatz; 20. Tripp Gaylord; 21. Mike Anderson; 22. Mike Hagen; 23. Jordan Zilmer. WEST FARGO, N.D. (July 10) – Two former champions were feature winners for the Friday night lidlifter at Red River Valley Speedway. last_img read more

Condon: Trip to suit Aspect

first_img Press Association Condon said: “I’m very happy with her. She won a Listed race over an inadequate trip at Tipperary and she will be more comfortable over seven furlongs. “I think she has improved since, but she will need to if she is to be involved. She is in good form and I’m expecting her to run well. “I booked Johnny on Wednesday when I knew Shane Foley wouldn’t be available.” Foley will partner Glassatura for his boss Mick Halford, a filly who made a winning debut at the Curragh before finishing fourth in a Listed heat at Naas. Halford said: “She is in good form, she’s had a nice break since her last run. She has been working well and I’m hoping for a good run.” As is so often the case, the contest is dominated by Aidan O’Brien. The master of Ballydoyle has saddled eight previous Debutante winners and is this year represented by Tapestry (Joseph O’Brien), Minorette (Michael Hussey) and Perhaps (Seamie Heffernan). The field is completed by Paul Deegan’s Avenue Gabriel. The daughter of Haatef came right back to five furlongs to claim the Listed Tipperary Stakes a month ago, her second career win from four juvenile appearances. She will be partnered by Johnny Murtagh as she faces six opponents at Group Two level this weekend. center_img Ken Condon believes a step up to seven furlongs will bring out the best in Sacred Aspect in the Friarstown Stud Debutante Stakes at the Curragh.last_img read more